UnSchool to Homeschool

Ok hey y’all its me back again for the 99… 2000

lol y’all realize I’m just joking right!?

The one question everybody asks me about besides relationship advice is homeschool.

 

Ok so “Picture it. Sicily, 1912” that was the day when I said I would homeschool my children. No honestly, it had to be late 1999-2000 because I was in high school when I told this to a friend of mine.  I know for a fact that I did’t wanted to teach my own children due to I have taught so many others before them. So I said let me see if I can make it do what it do for my own. See I was thrown into this life, I didn’t choose it, it chose me, well sorta kind of. I think I actually MANIFESTED it.

Anywho I did allow my baby boy to attend head-start, Kindergarten and 1st grade.  Shout out to Ms. Pat she was an excellent teacher who really helped my baby boy, Nolan grasp learning when I wasn’t around but oh boy it was a challenge.  I also allowed my oldest son, Nigel to try Kindergarten & 1st grade at a brick and mortar school and we were in for the ride of our life. Everyday it was something minute ( minute means extremely small) to discuss with his teacher and I don’t know if it was my preconceived notions but that’s when I knew then it wasn’t a good fit for us.

 

So that’s when we decided un-schooling and searching for home school info somewhere between 2014- 2015. I know this because we finally got the green light to relocate to Atlanta, Georgia FINALLY August 20, 2015. For that year that I pulled them out it was so challenging and at times even now I wonder if they know enough?

Thats when I started looking into homeschooling programs in GA and guess what it was absolutely $FREE99.  In Alabama, we were quoted an astronomical price that wasn’t in my frugal stay at home mom budget and asking for help outside of my home was a huge no no.  So I had to do what any G do. Get It Out The Mud!

 

WTBS.  The move to Georgia was perfect or at least I thought it was… Oh boy did we fall flat on our face… Anything that could happen did happen but we eventually saw the light at the end of the tunnel… I will save that Oscar worthy testimony for another day…

Tadaaa the kids were accepted in school later than usual but wait we didn’t have an official address.  No one knew we just up’d and left for Georgia but the 5 people that came with us…. including myself.  So the kids finally got accepted but time was running out and we had to find an official address… and find it FAST!

We already had a computer for Nigel but the school was generous enough to lend one to Nolan.  Although I won’t name drop on here that school wasn’t right for us either.

I’m a mother who is a free spirit and although I work extremely well under pressure I didn’t like this school either so I withdrew them again.

My children, My life.

I actually withdrew them last year right before school got out because one I don’t agree with al that pressure of testing.

Some people will disagree with me and I’m ok with that but I do know that everything is not for everybody and no one will pressure my children to understand something in a week and then its on to the next thing so the school can benefit from their head count!?Oops TEA SPILLED…

so now that we are here and back to square one…

Teaching never stops for me… I live it. I breathe it.  I am it.  I teach 365 24/7 and 366 on leap year.  We learn from everything. No matter if we are in the grocery store, the movies, out to eat and etc.  I just have a lot more time with my favorite people in the world than most…

I often here, “Girl you better than me, I can’t be around my children that long!”

all while those very same people have ended up telling me, “it must be nice!”

Take it or leave it we are all different and have predestined lives set up for us or either some of us create it as we go.. no way is better or wrong.  Just do what fits you.

as for homeschool as I say anything else.  Just Do It!

and here are my keys…  GOOGLE & Youtube is your friend.  Don’t be afraid to ask questions or you can ask me.  lol

For Georgia you will need to do an Online Declaration of Intent Form. Depending on your child/ren age you can start with Starfall. This maybe telling my age but I have been using it to teach kids since it came out in 2002. My little sister was 5 at the time and I was her babysitter and before that it was the old fashion way: flash cards, writing it out and etc.

The info for Apple Camp that I said in the podcast.

You can get an iPad or computer and download fun learning games and etc.  I’m resourceful so I always paid attention to details in the brick and mortar schools so I would be looking at software and books and whatever the teacher had in their classroom I wanted to have in mine.  Off the top of my head. they would use Think Central, Study Island along with a list of other stuff.  I’m in a bunch of homeschooling groups on Facebook and most importantly:  “I Always Remain A Student”  Nowadays I have my eyes on another type of school and I will be sure to update you all once all is said and done… UNTIL then my lips are SEALED.

 

If you need a more in depth 101 please feel free to reach out but I pretty much just told you what I do.  Its perfectly safe and normal to feel like you don’t know what the hell you are doing but look at you… you’re blossoming and advancing at the very moment when you decided to seek for answers…

 

YOU GOT THIS!

 

 

P.S. Although brick and mortar school and cyber school is a beautiful thing it isn’t for me and mine.  Shout out to all teachers because its an absolute gift to be teaching. You never know the difference you can make in a child’s life so I SALUTE & CELEBRATE all teachers, including us homeschooling moms ad dads.

DISCLAIMER: All opinions are my own. The information contained on this site and the resources available through clicking the link on this site are for educational and informational purposes only. By using this site, you accept personal responsibility for the results of your actions. There are no guarantees. You agree that xoLoveShika has not made any guarantees about the results of taking any action, whether recommended on this site or not. xoLoveShika provides educational and informational resources that are intended to help users of this site succeed in their relationships, professions, families, and otherwise. You nevertheless recognize that your ultimate success or failure will be the result of your own efforts, your particular situation, and innumerable other circumstances beyond the control and/or knowledge of xoLoveShika. You also recognize that prior results do not guarantee a similar outcome.  Thus, the results obtained by others – whether famILY, friends, clients or customers of xoLoveShika or otherwise – applying the principles set out in this site are no guarantee that you or any other person or entity will be able to obtain similar results.

Leave a comment